July 2019 Slow Flowers Journal in Florists’ Review

Celebrating locally-grown flowers designed for a New England coastal wedding by Debbie Bosworth of Dandelion Floral Design (c) Shannon Grant

SUMMER ON THE BEACH

Summer is here! In the July issue of Florists’ Review, we devoted several pages to seasonal weddings with beautiful local and domestic botanicals.

The opening pages of our July “Slow Flowers Journal” section begins with “Summer on the Beach,” featuring a style shoot designed by Debbie Bosworth of Plymouth, Mass.-based Dandelion House Floral Design.

Debbie envisioned an ethereal coastal wedding reflecting her studio’s Cape Cod roots. She partnered with photographer Shannon Grant to cature the seasonality of local flowers, including those growing in Bosworth’s backyard cut flower farm.

Details:
Floral Design: Dandelion House Floral Design, dandelionhousefloral.com, @dandelion_house
Photography: Shannon Grant Weddings, shannongrantweddingsblog.com, @theshannongrant
Location: Gurnet Point, Plymouth, Mass.
Model: Nicolette Bosworth, @nicolette.bosworth
Hair and Makeup: Manda Monium, mandamonium.net, @mandamoniummua
Dress and veil:  Flair Boston, flairbridesmaid.com, @flairboston
Lingerie: Shop Gossamer, shopgossamer.com, @shopgossamer
Silk Ribbon: Hey It’s So Pretty, @heyitsohsopretty
Paper Suite: Alison Kathleen, allisonkathleen.com, @allisonkthln
Wedding Cake and Desserts: Katelin Gellar, @katelingellar
Charcuterie Board: Jillian Rivers, @jillianrivers

Download a free PDF of Summer on the Beach

A TOUCH OF RUSTIC
Blair Roberts of Sweet Blossoms, a Frederick, Maryland-based studio, selected all-American-grown flowers for a summer estate wedding (c) Klaire Dixius photography

Blair Roberts of Sweet Blossoms, a Frederick, Maryland-based wedding and event designer, is up front about her five “core values,” including this statement on her web site’s home page. “Sweet Blossoms operates with a focus on green and sustainable practices wherever possible. I place a high priority on ordering flowers from domestic farms . . . and we are working to cultivate relationships with as many local farmers as I can. I compost all organic waste, recycling at least 90 percent of all materials used in the studio. I do my best to use as little floral foam as possible. Electronic contract systems reduce the use of printing and when I can, I try to order materials that have been made from recycled materials.”

Last summer, all the details came together for one couple who placed their wedding in the hands of Brielle Davis of Brielle Davis Events, a planner with whom Roberts often collaborates. Together, they proposed a design concept using local and domestic botanicals for personal, ceremony and reception flowers for a wedding held at Stone Manor Country Club, also in Frederick.

Floral Details:

Maryland: The Petal Patch Flower Farm, petalpatchflowerfarm.com, @petalpatchflowerfarm: dianthus, scabiosa and mini carnations

Tierra Blooms, tierrabloomsflowers.com, @tierrablooms: privet foliage

Virginia: Harmony Harvest Flower Farm, hhfshop.com, @harmonyharvest: lavatera, peonies, snapdragon and yarrow
Other American-grown flowers and foliage: DVFlora, dvflora.com, @dvflora

Creative/Vendors:

Planner: Brielle Davis Events, brielledavisevents.com, @brielledavisevents

Florist: Blair Roberts, Sweet Blossoms, sweetblossomsllc.com, @thesweetblossoms

Photography: Klaire Dixius Photography, klairedixius.com, @klairedixiusphoto

Download a free PDF of A Touch of Rustic

PATTERNED PETALS

Learn more about botanical artist Josephine Rice, creator of the unique branding for American Flowers Week 2019.

Joyous and uplifting, Josephine Rice’s red-white-and-blue interpetation gives a modern twist to the conventional patriotic palette. In the botanical world, flowers themselves change color throughout a single season, so it’s enticing to see how she reimagines traditional flag colors in a new, inventive way.

Download a free PDF of Patterned Petals.

Like what you see here? I’m delighted to serve as Contributing Editor for Slow Flowers Journal, found in the pages of Florists’ Review. It’s the leading trade magazine in the floral industry and the only independent periodical for the retail, wholesale and supplier market. Take advantage of the special subscription offer for members of the Slow Flowers Community. Click here for details.

Debra Prinzing

Debra Prinzing is the founder of Slow Flowers and the author of several books.

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Subscribe to SlowFlowers newsletter

Subscribe to our mailing list

Powered by Robly

Slow Flowers Journal is brought to you by SlowFlowers.com. Slow Flowers is an award-winning online directory created to help consumers find florists, studio designers, wedding and event planners, supermarket flower departments and flower farmers that supply American grown flowers. Founded in 2014, the site has grown to 700 members across the U.S.

FOLLOW US ON

Media Contact:

For more information, please contact Debra Prinzing
at 206-769-8211 or 844-SLOWFLO (844-756-9356); debra(at)slowflowers.com.